Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 06-07-2011, 07:49 AM   #1 
KristinM

Question What are your Betta's favourite foods?

Im new to this Betta world...and in one day i Have had my eyes opened!

I researched what they like to eat besides the normal flakes and pellets. Our local store only sells frozen Bloodworms. In order to get anything else such as Daphnia and shrimp you have to buy the eggs and spawn them yourself which I have never done but may have to try!

What do you find your Bettas like to eat the most? and are Bloodworms good for them?

Are there any easier alternatives that they enjoy and are good for them? On one site I saw Beef Heart mentioned????? I plan on digging up some small earthworms which we have a lot of in the garden. would they eat the live if they were really small? and mosquito larvae from the stream running through the property which is now not flowing due to it being winter and contains stagnant water.

Is any of this advisable? Am I on the right track?!
KristinM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 08:13 AM   #2 
scootshoot

Welcome to the site

Read the nutrition label and ingredients of foods. Betta's are carnivores so need protein in their diet. Anything close to 50pct or higher in protein value is fine.

Healthy betta's are always hungry. Mine try to devour anything, including a taste of my finger.

Last edited by scootshoot; 06-07-2011 at 08:19 AM.
scootshoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 09:00 AM   #3 
Tisia

I wouldn't do beef heart, not really part of their natural diet