Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 06-08-2011, 03:18 AM   #1 
Bakesale

Betta seems lazy, lies on bottom of tank.

Hello everyone, firstly I'd just like to say that I'm a long time reader since I got my betta nearly a year ago. And I love the fact that everyone here is so passionate about betta's, its a very lovely thing to have such a community like this.

Basically I have a 20l tank, which is think is about 5gls. Which my betta, Freddy, shares with 10 Neon Tetras and 2 Cory-dora Catfish.

As an amateur, I only have a PH testing kit, PH is currently neutral, I use regular tap water when I do water changes, but I use an additive which removes chlorine, chloramines and ammonia from tap water. I do a 50-75% water change once or twice weekly depending on how busy I am.

Last week one of my neons died, I can't say how long he was in there for as I was asleep, what I do know is, my water heater failed during the night and because it is winter here in Australia the tank temperature dropped to about 15degrees Celsius, I usually keep it between 22-25 degrees.

Since the neon died Freddy has seemed a little odd, usually all day hes racing along one side of the walls of my tank, like a dog chasing a ball, in the last week however he has been lying on the rocks in the bottom of my tank or hiding in the plants. He also had a small white lump on his head which I identified, I believe as Itch. For the last week I have been treating the entire tank with a general antibiotic. And I did a 75% water change when I got home from work the day the fish died.

Enclosed is a picture of the tank when I first got it, its primarily the same setup today.