Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 06-20-2011, 09:59 PM   #1 
DanielaMarie

10 Gallon Tank for my College Dorm Room

Hi everyone!

I'm a junior at Northern Arizona University and am interested in getting a 10 gallon tank for my dorm room, I'm new to the fish keeping hobby. I drive between college and home for summer and winter break, which is an 8 hour drive, and I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions on how to transport the tank and fish? Would the fish survive an 8 hour car ride? I know these tanks can weigh around 100 pounds when filled, which is heavy. I haven't purchased anything yet and am still in the researching phase so any tips will be a great help.
DanielaMarie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 10:05 PM   #2 
xMandy

I'd just bag them and also keep the water in a container when you move. Then once you're back at your room or home un-do everything. You'll have your cycled media in the container and your fish will be in bags.
As far as how to keep them well in the bags..someone else will have to chime in. I've never had to transport an aquarium. Last time I moved a fish for a 12hr car drive I hung onto his bowl for dear life.

What fish would it be? Bettas?
xMandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 10:30 PM   #3 
Schwannsee

When moving fish, I first turn off the heater and allow to cool. Then I drain the tank, saving the water in 5 gallon buckets (super cheap w/lids), another bucket gets all of the gravel/sand/substrate that I can remove. Otherwise, you are likely to blow out the glass on the bottom of the tank, bad news for everyone!

Depending on how many fish we're talking about, I then do the following: