Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 06-21-2011, 01:31 AM   #1 
roarsirroar

see through red fins?

hello, my royal blue betta has started to get this red, crimson tint on the bases of his anal and caudual fins (mainly on the anal fin). on the caudual fin the red shows in the creases of the fin, but on the base of the anal fin it is pretty red. he also has these two lines near one of his gills, and a red and white line on the other. and theres a little bit of red on his beard when he flares. another thing that also worried me was when i flashed a light on the red part of his fins i could see through them (it gave a reddish tint). i'm quite new to this stuff so please help. ill try to post a picture tomorrow if necessary.

Housing
What size is your tank? 3.5 gal
What temperature is your tank? 24 C
Does your tank have a filter? nope
Does your tank have an air stone or other type of aeration? nope
Is your tank heated? not yet
What tank mates does your betta fish live with? none

Food
What type of food do you feed your betta fish? tetrabetta floating mini pellets
How often do you feed your betta fish? 2 pellets 2 times a day (4 a day)

Maintenance
How often do you perform a water change? weekly
What percentage of the water do you change when you perform a water change? 100% (i might change this)
What type of additives do you add to the water when you perform a water change? 1 tsp aquarium salt, tetra water conditoning tablets (i dont know what they are specifically called)

Water Parameters:
Have you tested your water? If so, what are the following parameters?
n/a

Symptoms and Treatment
How has your betta fish's appearance changed? red on base of fins/transparent-like
How has your betta fish's behavior changed? more jittery i guess
When did you start noticing the symptoms? one day ago
Have you started treating your fish? If so, how? no