Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 06-24-2011, 09:32 AM   #1 
Dryst999

Aqaurium newbie, help me build a 15 gallon tank

So i'm new to aquariums, right now I have a beautiful Fluval Spec at my desk at work that has became my new favorite hobby. My betta is lively and hasn't had any problems in the two months i've had him. I do weekly water changes which surprisingly isn't a chore and is something I look forward to doing; with that in mind I think it's time for me to build a community tank for my home.

I'm looking at a 15gallon tank.... I think this is a good size for a betta, some schooling fish, some cory catfish and some cherry red shrimp. I can't find any affordable kits this size however and i'm not sure where to start for building my own.

I see just the clear empty tanks this size at PETCO and Walmart for really cheap, are these what everyone buys? Is setting up a tank as easy as buying one of these bare tanks, a filter, and a heater? Are the filters that hang on the back of the tanks hard to setup?

I'm looking to spend <$200 for my setup, I want a GOOD quality filter and only plan on doing water changes bi-weekly for a tank this size. Can anyone recommend me some tanks/filters/heaters for this setup... also is there anything else I would need like a hood or any other accessories? If there are any GOOD kits worth the money for under $200 i'd be interested as well, I just don't want to pay double the price for something I can put together in 30mins buying the parts myself.
Dryst999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2011, 10:28 AM   #2 
Pitluvs