Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 06-27-2011, 10:58 PM   #1 
cmgh

Unhappy Sick betta...TB or old age?

Hello Everyone,

I am new to betta fish keeping. My little friend Fabio is not doing well. I recently "rescued" him from my sister who was keeping him in a little 1 quart jar. (I put rescued in quotes because it looks like he's dying) She was ignoring him and I thought I could at least do a little better...guess not :(

Housing
He's in a 5 gallon tank
Temp goes between 77 and 80
In tank filter and underground filter (the in-tank filter wasn't doing enough)
It has an airstone
no filter, I live in a warm climate and don't want to accidentally bake him :(...also I'm living on a super tight budget.
tank mates are a couple plastic plants and a little ceramic pot

Food
freeze dried bloodworms
6 days a week, 3-4 worms

Maintenance

water changes are every 3-5 days
20% changes
I add dechlorinator and aquarium salt

Water Parameters:
I have not tested water parameters, I try to do twice weekly water changes to be safe

Symptoms and Treatment
He recently had finrot. I treated with salt baths and it got better but now progress has been slow if non-existent, his color is getting lighter, he looks thinner, when he's not swimming his spine is in an S curve but not humpbacked; it's side to side. No bloating.
He's very lethargic, hangs out in the top corner of tank not moving, I thought he died today and but he started to move a little bit after i poked him gently, he won't eat
noticed symptoms about 2 weeks ago
I don't have much money to treat him, I want to know if I should euthanize.
I think my sister gave him to me with finrot
I don't know how old he is but I'm guessing he's probably 2 yearsish