Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-28-2011, 05:37 PM   #1 
BetterBetta
Member
 
BetterBetta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Southwest Florida is where its at(:
Sand Substrate?

Is there a special sand you have to buy to use it as substrate? Like aquarium sand? Or can you buy just any sand?
BetterBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 06:12 PM   #2 
fishman12
Member
 
fishman12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: ........
Any I think. You can get 10 pounds cheap at Home Depot I think.... Don't know though.
fishman12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 06:15 PM   #3 
BetterBetta
Member
 
BetterBetta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Southwest Florida is where its at(:
Do you think play sand would work
BetterBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 06:17 PM   #4 
fishman12
Member
 
fishman12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: ........
Yeah I think that's what Home depot sells but I don't know that much about different sands.
fishman12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 06:19 PM   #5 
BetterBetta
Member
 
BetterBetta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Southwest Florida is where its at(:
thanks I'll look into it more(:
BetterBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 06:20 PM   #6 
fishman12
Member
 
fishman12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: ........
No prob Just wanted you to know I'm not experienced in sand
fishman12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 06:28 PM   #7 
TonyK
Member
 
TonyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
I have play sand in my tank from Home Depot. You can use and will not cause any problems. Just make sure and rinse it good. Your tank will look cloudy for awhile if its rinsed good.
TonyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 06:28 PM   #8 
Littlebittyfish
Member
 
Littlebittyfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Florida
You can use pool filter sand or playsand.There are a few others I cant think of at the moment...
I had playsand in my tanks for a while..I ended up going back with a natural looking gravel eventually though.
Littlebittyfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 06:29 PM   #9 
BetterBetta
Member
 
BetterBetta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Southwest Florida is where its at(:
Thanks guys:) at the moment I have neon gravel, and its kinda hard to see if my betta, well, goes. So I was thinking of switching over(:
BetterBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 06:31 PM   #10 
fishman12
Member
 
fishman12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: ........
I'm thinking of getting sand if I get a 20g from petco.
fishman12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sand Substrate? Corykit Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 16 05-07-2010 10:48 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.