Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 07-13-2011, 03:31 AM   #1 
SageMyster

Unhappy Is it columnaris or bad petstore maintenance? New Betta owner, please help!

I know that I am a brand-new member to this community, but I've been researching like a madwoman to prepare myself for my very first Betta fish (though I have owned other fish before), and I have found this site extremely helpful with considerate and knowledgeable members. Thus, I come to you... on my very first day of Betta parenthood.

His name is Harlot, and I have already fallen deeply in love with him. What you won't like is that, yes, I did purchase him from Petco (and yes, he is a veiltail, which I know you breeders are not quite fond of - but they are actually my favorite), and he does show the wear-and-tear of improper maintenance. I'm an undergrad and I simply don't have the money to buy a quality $30-$60 fish. That said, I -believe- I picked a young(er) one who was quite lively and seemed to have a personality of his own. He -appeared- healthy. I had a person from the fish department check him out, and he said all was good. However, when I called the store beforehand, I asked how often they restocked their Betta fish. The woman said once a week. Later I found out from a very kind employee that these fish have been sitting out for several months. I am utterly disgusted.

Luckily, however, at least Harlot has a good a healthy home with me, and I am taking proper care of him. But as a worried mother, I noticed some unusual signs with him.

For instance:

Notice the grey patch on his left cheek? There are two others on his right cheek. Are these just harmless freckles or greyish lesions? There are also white spots on his left cheek, but they may just be his natural coloration.

And more importantly: