Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-22-2011, 11:27 PM   #1 
Shaon
New Member
 
Shaon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Quebec, Canada
Seachem Prime?

I need a bit of clarification in terms of dosing my tank with water conditioner. I had a 120ml (4oz) Nutrafin water conditioner and it ran out after 4 water changes.

I have a 15G tank and I'm wondering if I'm doing this right. When I do water changes, I put conditioner in the new water which is in the bucket and then pour that into the tank. I do this with each bucket full of water till my tank is full. Is this right? Or am I suppose to put the new water in the tank first and then give the required amount of conditioner to the entire 15G tank?

This is also where Seachem Prime comes in. I am planning on buying Prime but I'm wondering how long would it last me? More specifically, how much Prime treats 15G of water?
Shaon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2011, 11:34 PM   #2 
Kytkattin
Member
 
Kytkattin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: California
I always do what you do, that is, treat the bucket before I put the water in.

The instructions on Prime are this: Use 1-2 drops per gallon to the water before you add it (that is, if you are adding a gallon of water (or less), put in 1 drop), or dose for the entire tank if adding Prime after. So if you were to put all the water in (untreated) you would put in 15 drops for a 15 gallon tank.
Kytkattin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2011, 11:46 PM   #3 
dramaqueen
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Central Texas
I use 2 drops per gallon. The bottles come in different sizes. I got a smaller bottle but with 10 fish I need a bigger bottle. lol
dramaqueen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 12:09 AM   #4 
Pitluvs
Member
 
Pitluvs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
I just have to add, when you put untreated water in your tanks, make sure your filter isn't running! Only run treated water in your filter :) I used to add water and treat after, now I just treat before in the bucket. I don't use Prime though, can't find it here.
Pitluvs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 12:17 AM   #5 
Kytkattin
Member
 
Kytkattin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pitluvs View Post
I just have to add, when you put untreated water in your tanks, make sure your filter isn't running! Only run treated water in your filter :) I used to add water and treat after, now I just treat before in the bucket. I don't use Prime though, can't find it here.
+1!!!

You don't want to kill off all the good bacteria you cycled for!
Kytkattin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 12:29 AM   #6 
Shaon
New Member
 
Shaon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Quebec, Canada
How do I measure a drop of Prime? Is there a dropper in the mouth of the bottle? A drop per gallon doesn't sound too bad o.O
Shaon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 12:36 AM   #7 
Kytkattin
Member
 
Kytkattin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: California
I specifically got the smallest bottle because it is the only one with the cap that lets you go per drop (easily). I plan on taking that cap off and putting it on a bigger bottle when I run out of the smaller bottle (because the openings are the same size). The directions are different for the bigger bottles. They are measured by the capful. Obviously meant for bigger tanks. It is the same stuff, just packaged for different purposes.
Kytkattin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 06:08 PM   #8 
Littlebittyfish
Member
 
Littlebittyfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Florida
I took the dropper lid off my stress coat and it fit. :D
Littlebittyfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 06:13 PM   #9 
nel3
Member
 
nel3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Montreal
Quote:
Originally Posted by Littlebittyfish View Post
I took the dropper lid off my stress coat and it fit. :D
lol thats what i do when i need to use stress coat. i drop some prime conditioner into the water then switch the caps on the 2 bottles and i have no problem to dose the cap for the stress coat.
nel3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011, 02:24 PM   #10 
dramaqueen
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Central Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by Littlebittyfish View Post
I took the dropper lid off my stress coat and it fit. :D
I put mine in an old empty stresscoat bottle with a dropper lid.
dramaqueen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Seachem Prime SilverCaracal Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 15 02-27-2011 07:01 PM
Seachem Prime Lion Mom Betta Fish Care 7 07-07-2010 11:04 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.