Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 07-29-2011, 12:18 AM   #1 
SageMyster

Wink The Betta Addiction... what do I do now?!

When I went to get my pretty boy, I had my mind on a beautiful black and blue Betta; one I had seen off of a website, though I can't remember which! But of course, I fell in love with Harlot, a red veiltail (my favorite kind) with turquoise stripes along his tail and white glimmers under his eyes. Perfect, right?!

Well. I'm new to this. I admit that I am anything but an expert, but when I got Harlot, I was researching at record speed and got him to near-health and fin restoration after poor Petco maintenance. But for those of you who are acquainted with Harlot's antics, he tends to get himself into all kinds of trouble. Sassy personality. Temper. He ended up getting caught in a silk plant for an undeterminable amount of time, and stressed as he was, destroyed much of his caudal fin.

So here I was, an hour ago, in Petco to get some API Stress Coat to fix Harlot up AGAIN, when I passed the Betta isle and ... I found him. HIM.

I had forgotten to bring my phone along the way, so I have no pictures. But suffice it to say, he was a healthy young veiltail, who looked much like this:

With the shimmery coating and scales of this guy:
http://watershed3.tripod.com/betta_splendins.jpg

Black face with orange eyes, shimmery royal blue body, beautiful. But quite worn and, as Harlot had been, a Betta in distress with damaged fins and depleting color. Just a baby who needs some TLC for fast rejuvenation.