Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 08-01-2011, 03:10 AM   #1 
Christie

Stampy's fins

I'm kinda new to the beta world so I'm not sure about the lingo but I have a beta named Stampy. He is a half moon or full moon beta. His fins were beautiful and smooth edges when I got him. His fins started looking tattered. I put him in a 5 gallon tank with a filter and heater that I keep around 79F. I use fresh ready water from the pet store because the water conditioners don't seem to be good enough for the crappy water quality of the city. His fins kept getting tattered so I read that it could be fin rot. I don't want his fins to disappear. I read that you can add aquarium salt to the water to help fighting bacteria. I have done this and I know when I add water not to add more salt because salt doesnt evaporate. I do know when I vacuum I need to put salt in the water being added. Some days I think his fins are getting better and other days I think not. What can I do for him to keep the water healthy and bacteria free? I am really worried about his fins. I have tested the water and it seems fine. I change the filter. I have live plants. What else can I do? I want him happy and healthy.
Christie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 03:34 AM   #2 
Christie

I want you to see him... Is there a way to post a pic on here from my iPhone?
Old 08-01-2011, 05:08 AM   #3 
Sakura8