Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Breeding Betta Fish
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 08-02-2011, 11:36 AM   #1 
vette91

Breeding to keep your own fish?

I have a few fish that mean a lot to me and I wanted to keep their gene alive. I have a Halfmoon plakat King who has a dark blue and red butterfly.
I have a Halfmoon who is a butterfly. He has a light blue body and a white stripe at the edge of his fins.
I want to pair them up with one of NIB's black fire spawn fry. And I also want to pair them with a cambodian crowntail. She obviously has a pale body but her fins change colors depending on the light. They go from dark purple to turquoise to blue and some green.
I have a few crappy pictures but I can't find the USB cord for my camera.
But anyways, which should I pair together? I want to spawn them and keep the fry in large growout tank. This is my first time breeding but I am starting to collect all of the supplies.
I'll try to get pictures up but i have to find the cord first :)
vette91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 01:47 PM   #2 
Creat

Well I assume that you dont know the background of the two males you like I would start with the HM breeding first if this is your first time. You could pair him with the ct but no telling what mixes youd get I would suggest NIBs female. But if your trying to keep ones like him you might need to go get a lighter HM female. The genes tend to carry more on the moms side and breeding to NIB's dark colors you would get more dark colors and very few carrying the males lighter marble colors.
With the HM PK King I would at the least try to find a female similar to him in size.
What kind of set up are you planning on using?
Creat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 02:01 PM   #3 
trilobite

What particular trait are you looking to pass on?
Do you want them to look excactly like the males?