Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Chat
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 08-06-2011, 01:45 PM   #1 
Here Fishy Fishy Fishy

20 Gallon Sorority & 5 Gallon Updates

20 Gallon Sorority: Did a major water switch today, as I missed the last scheduled change due to illness.

Some observations:

Since I've been feeding wingless fruit flies for about two months, Bog (my bloat-troubled CT) has finally 'turned the corner' - she's staying slim and has put on some major growth on her fins. Although she's a really weird colored marbling (cranberry with pale mint iridescent on Cambodian body), she's looking the best she ever has been. Woo Hoo!

I've noticed growth also for the red twin, Rosey and Thorne. Sunrise, Sunset, Sunny and Eclipse are all flawless. Misty (HM cellophane) has some serious fins issues I'm about to address. She's taken a lot of nips as of late, so I'm putting her in isolation in a solution of two tsp. Epsom salts and decaffeinated green tea extract.

I'm noticing that Sky and the Sorority leader, Miss America, are also a bit tattered. I'm hoping that with Misty in QT, the sorority dynamics will shift and Miss America can heal in-tank. I don't want to take her out of the sorority for treatment if I can help it, as she may lose her position - and she's been a great sorority leader.

Mossy has a hole in her fin that is healing and Peacock is as healthy as ever.

I've been keeping the light off most of this summer, to reduce stress and tank heating.

I've also been less of a nervous Mom... the girls take tiny nips here and there, but with clean water and high quality food, they heal quickly on their own. Misty is at the point now where she needs a 'time-out'. A few days of rest, and she'll be ready to torment everyone again!