Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 08-08-2011, 12:35 PM   #1 
cherrybello

Should I attempt to cycle the tank or stick with water changes?

Hello everyone, I am really really new at this.

I have recently acquired a betta, I housed him in a 20 Litre tank with an adjustable filter (always on the lowest) and a heater(set at 26~28 degrees), and some pebbles on the bottom, a fake bark arch to hide in. A few days ago I noticed the tank water getting cloudy so I read up on it and found out about the nitrogen cycle. He was looking sick so I thought I would get him out and put him in a bowl while I cycle the tank. But I can't keep the bowl warm, and he's getting really stressed (he was pinkish with a bit of purple in his fins, and recently been looking really pale), and his tail is starting to fold in. Right now I am keeping his bowl in the sink with warm water to keep him warm, he's looking a bit more active but his tail is stiff and can't swim around very well. I am really worried about him and I don't want him to die. The ammonia reading is somewhere between 0.5 to 1, getting some nitrate readings but I can't be certain, that should indicate that the cycle is kicking in. So question here is that should I do an 100% water change in his tank and keep it uncycled with real frequent water changes or go through with the cycle with bacteria culture product?

Thanks in advance.
cherrybello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2011, 01:14 PM   #2 
Kytkattin