Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 08-10-2011, 04:09 PM   #1 
rob1981

Newbie Tank Setup

Hi,

I am a newbie to betta fish and am looking for some advice on the ideal tank setup before I start. I have a small tank which i would like to use (4 gallons).

Here are the questions:
1. What filter, if any would you recommend for this tank
2. How many betta fish could i have in this tank. Could i possibly have a male and a female?

The other option is my other tank (38 gallon) which currently contains 4 small angelfish, 2 bala sharks, a small clown loach, a common pleco and a bristlenose. This tank has a Fluval U4 filter.
rob1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 04:14 PM   #2 
CoverMeInClay

Only one fish in the tank. Males and females will fight and seriously injure, if not kill each other in almost all cases if kept in that situation. I can't recomend a filter as i do not have a lot of experience with the variouse types. I wouldn't think about using the 38 gallon as a comunity for a betta, the angel pish would go after him/her. Stick with the 4 gallon and one betta.
CoverMeInClay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 05:02 PM   #3 
Comet1993

Just the one fish should go into the four-gallon. The larger tank isn't a good idea; angels and bettas shouldn't be put together, not only because of the differences in enviromental needs.. They have small filters at my local pet shop.. Maybe you should browse around to find a suitable one.
Comet1993 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2011, 12:50 AM   #4 
PewPewPew

Try the tetra whisper 3i.

Its not the greatest filter in the world- but it works and isnt too strong. It wont suck up the fish and it wont push them around too much. The aiirattor is a little noisy.

http://www.petsmart.com/product/inde...ductId=2752355
PewPewPew is offline   Reply With Quote