Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-11-2011, 07:39 PM   #1 
diablo13
Member
 
diablo13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: The Crab State! In other words, Maryland.
TetraWhisper Question?

Hey guys, I was just wonder about the filters, I have a 10i internal in my 10 gallon and I'm thinking about getting a PF10 for my 5 gallon, I have already started cycling the 10 and plan to cycle the 5, but while looking up the power filter, I read that both " Elimenate Toxic Ammonia and Nitrates", So I'm asking does this remove ALL Ammoni and nitrates or just some so my tanks still have the possibility to cycle?
diablo13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2011, 11:50 PM   #2 
Nexangelus
New Member
 
Nexangelus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Virginia
I could be wrong, but the PF10 may not have an adjustable flow output. It may be a little strong, but check around online to see what people say about the flow. The elimination part is more of a gimmick to make it sound more appealing to those who aren't familiar with cycling. Activated carbon always does this to some small degree, as does beneficial bacteria. There's nothing special about them in that regard.

To answer your question, it's perfectly fine to use while cycling. Don't mind that pesky little gimmick they tacked on. :)
Nexangelus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 07:22 AM   #3 
dragonflie
Member
 
dragonflie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Agreed on the carbon. You could always cut a slit into the cartridge and remove the carbon if you want.
dragonflie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 07:48 AM   #4 
diablo13
Member
 
diablo13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: The Crab State! In other words, Maryland.
Thanks guys, but the PF10 I may get isn't even for a betta. It's for my possible future dwarf puffer, they don't mind current :D but it has to be cycled fir them, so just wanted to make sure :D
diablo13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about Ken-chan and another question SasukePanther Betta Fish Care 4 10-08-2008 03:17 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.