Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 08-12-2011, 06:39 PM   #1 
beasley

MY betta's tail!! :'(

so im very new to this but i do have 2 bettas in a 10 gallon tank. one female one male with a divider of course separating the two. i recently just got the male who's a halfmoon tail i believe. anyways today i woke up to find his tail shredded! i quarantined everything in the tank including the plants just in case. the fish is just laying at the bottom although showing no other signs of sickness like red streaks black tips . i have NO IDEA what to do nor do i have the funds right now to do anything about it :'( not until payday next week!

i would post pictures but i dont know how

also it just happened overnight i did a small water change the night before too. hes a blue fish w. almost like a red spotting on his head but im pretty sure its his natural pigment. and his tail was once so lush blue then turning into an almost cream hue towards the tips he's GORGEOUS & so worried that he'll never get his gorgeous tail back! :'(

Last edited by beasley; 08-12-2011 at 06:45 PM.
beasley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 06:59 PM   #2 
Pataflafla

If it happened over night and you ruled out the plants and other tank deco, it might be tail biting.

Does it look a little something like this? It's my tail biting crown tail, so yours will look similar but not exact since they're different tail types, but it should be enough to diagnosing biting or tearing.
Name:  005 (8).jpg
Views: 804
Size:  40.3 KB

For now just keep up on water changes and feed a higher protein diet to help with growth. If you've got aquarium salt or can pick it up next week, the dosing is 1 tsp/gal premixed to prevent fin rot and help encourage growth. You shouldn't need to go above that dose unless a persistent rot takes hold of his tail.
Pataflafla is offline   Reply With Quote