Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-22-2011, 10:08 PM   #1 
Draug Isilme
Member
 
Draug Isilme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Arkansas
Freshwater Master Test Kit

So yeah, I just got this kit so I can use it for my new 5g I'm going to get in a few weeks. Right now, my new betta fish is in my 1.5g and I know it's not necessary to use the kit for something so small, but I was so excited, I wanted to test it out xD I was just wondering how I should clean the tubs 'cause I just got the fish two days ago and the ammonia tested out 0. The next day, it seemed like it was .25ppm and today, I believe it was .5ppm. I did a 50% water change today, and the readings still seem to be .5ppm. I tested my regular tap water, and it came up reading the same thing.. So... I'm assuming the tubes need better cleaning than just a quick rinse.. and I'm assuming it's okay to clean them with chlorine, but I wanted another persons opinion before I just jump into it, ya know?
Draug Isilme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 10:10 PM   #2 
Neil D
Member
 
Neil D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Hiding from The Mods
Yeah. I just take some tap water into it, then recap it. Then I shake it vigorously for like 10 seconds. Then after I give it a quick final rinse and I let it dry.
Neil D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 10:12 PM   #3 
Draug Isilme
Member
 
Draug Isilme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Arkansas
Ah.. I tried rinsing them and then letting them dry before using any of the tubes again, but I suppose it's just not good enough. I'll try shaking regular water around for a few seconds and see if it makes a difference ^.^
Draug Isilme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 10:19 PM   #4 
Neil D
Member
 
Neil D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Hiding from The Mods
Good luck!
Neil D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 10:25 PM   #5 
Draug Isilme
Member
 
Draug Isilme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Arkansas
Thanks ^.^
Draug Isilme is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.