Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-26-2011, 12:15 PM   #11 
lordadamar
New Member
 
lordadamar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Grant, Nebraska
Very Familiar with that product, its top notch good choice...

I actually have a baffles intake cone on my gravel vacuum, so I only suck up the garbage not the rocks, cause my substrate is tiny and engineered like Eco-Complete...

I believe you can find the accessories on pet solutions to do that

NO BETTA'S IN THIS TANK

For the purpose of showing you substrate
Attached Images
   

Last edited by lordadamar; 08-26-2011 at 12:20 PM.
lordadamar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2011, 11:40 PM   #12 
xXbrokencrownXx
Member
 
xXbrokencrownXx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Sonoma County, CA
Ah! I really want to change the substrate of my tank to sand. Do I need to put extra effort for it to work though? not that I have a problem with that, i just heard that gas builds up in the air pockets...? I dont know haha.
xXbrokencrownXx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2011, 12:32 PM   #13 
lordadamar
New Member
 
lordadamar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Grant, Nebraska
Quote:
Originally Posted by xXbrokencrownXx View Post
Ah! I really want to change the substrate of my tank to sand. Do I need to put extra effort for it to work though? not that I have a problem with that, i just heard that gas builds up in the air pockets...? I dont know haha.
What Sand size substrate does is compact around the roots inhibiting growth. You might have to be more selective when choosing plants...

It can cause a build up of gases but, most agree that if you do regular maintenance and moving the sand around you can avoid this...
lordadamar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2011, 12:40 PM   #14 
xXbrokencrownXx
Member
 
xXbrokencrownXx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Sonoma County, CA
so when I change the water like once a week (im getting a filter) should I just churn the sand and it'll be fine?
xXbrokencrownXx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2011, 12:41 PM   #15 
xXbrokencrownXx
Member
 
xXbrokencrownXx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Sonoma County, CA
or what is a good substrate in general for bettas that isnt the normal gravel that I could get in petco?
xXbrokencrownXx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2011, 12:46 PM   #16 
lordadamar
New Member
 
lordadamar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Grant, Nebraska
Yah, just take a Rod stir it around, take care into not doing to close to plants..

I use this for my Betta Tanks

http://www.substratesource.com/index...rate&pn=NW0202

Its round looks like little balls....

But this place has good substrate... at a decent price even with shipping

And you can order free samples

Last edited by lordadamar; 08-28-2011 at 12:49 PM.
lordadamar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Look at how my boy has changed!! ds2009 Betta Pictures 5 05-08-2011 08:53 PM
Changed the Substrate...had to do big water change too. zerlinafish Betta Fish Care 2 09-24-2008 08:45 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.