Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 08-26-2011, 06:18 PM   #1 
zachrus

My little guy isnt moving much

hello everyone,

im very new to owning a betta and have basically done alot of not so good things in the past 3 weeks trying to care for my betta Oscar. Last week i moved him from his 1 gallon bowl to a 5 gallon tank without knowing anything about the nitrogen cycle that had to happen first. so throughout this week the water has been conciderably cloudy, so every day since sunday i had done a 50% water change to try and help the dirtyness of the water. this morning i went to check on Oscar and saw that he wasnt as lively as he was. he wasnt flaring at me or moving around much but stayed at the bottom of the tank and only came up for air. i have a heater but no thermometer and i check the water frequently and it is very slightly luke warm. im on a tight budget and i just want this little guy to be happy. should i put him back in the 1 gal. with his one plant and back into my warm room or wait until the cycle is finished and see if he perks back up again? Also he isnt eating or reacting when i put a mirror up to his tank.

PS. my theory is that because he only had one plant in the 1 gallon the cycle only took one day nad he wasnt bothered for the rest of the week until his water change

also sorry if this post is in any wrong section

Last edited by zachrus; 08-26-2011 at 06:20 PM.
zachrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 06:48 PM   #2 
zachrus

ive noticed his fins are very...scrunched up... the only time ive seen this is when i first got him at the fair and he wasnt doing to good yet his environment now is pretty much opposite. its not cold and his tank isnt constantly moving
Old 08-26-2011, 06:59 PM   #3 
Micho

Welcome to the forums~ His scrunched up fins is called clamped fins, Bettas will clamp their fins, if they're sick or stressed out.