Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 08-27-2011, 11:25 PM   #1 
ecforgie

Betta goes to College!

Hello all, I am new to this forum as well as new to fish ownership... I am a full time college student, and I purchased a male blue betta fish (Alec) a week ago today. I'm a huge animal person and the hardest adjustment to college life has been the lack of animals in my life, so a fish was my only option. I went to the local PetSmart and bought a plastic one gallon bowl, some red marbles, a plastic orange plant, water conditioner, and food. So far he seems to be doing alright, even though I didn't do as much research as I should have before I introduced him to his new home. But now I have done lots of reading about care and such... I learned that when there is a "bubble nest" on the water surface, it means that he is happy and healthy for the most part, and when I cleaned the bowl today, sure enough there was a bubble nest! I have his bowl on my desk so that I can keep a lamp on it all day and turn it off at night. He has a great personality as far as fish go; he watches me when I'm working at my desk or moving around within his line of sight, and he will follow my finger around the bowl, which brings me much pleasure as it is the closest I can get to "playing" with an animal right now!