Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 08-27-2011, 10:38 PM   #1 
rocketshipwalker

Please help, I'm new to the Betta world and very confused.

Hello, all!
My birthday is next month and I've decided that I really want a Betta.
I've been researching them so I can get an ideal tank.
I found a five gallon tank at a local pet store that is in my price range.(It's a normal tank with a hood and light.)
I was also wondering if this filter would be okay?
http://www.petsmart.com/product/inde...3858&lmdn=Size
I know I need a heater as well, but I don't know what brand is best. I don't want it to be too expensive though.

One of the main things I am confused about is 'cycling'.
I read the thread about it and I just can't seem to understand it.
I'm also confused about when I need to change the water.
Most of the threads I've read seem to focus on smaller tanks.
So, I'm not too sure what I should do with a five gallon tank.

I'm also wanting to get a moss ball or two. Is there anything I need to know about them?

Are Plecostomus safe to have with a male Betta? If they are, does a five gallon tank have enough room for both a Plecostomus and a male Betta?

At the moment, I think those are my main questions.
Any and all help is appreciated!
rocketshipwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2011, 07:12 AM   #2 
Tikibirds

HI

One of the main things I am confused about is 'cycling'.
I read the thread about it and I just can't seem to understand it.
Quote: