Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 08-30-2011, 07:28 PM   #1 
Potential4Evil

Question The Big Blue Betta: College life for Chum-Fu

Ok so as youve guys have seen me around you know Im a new owner to a lil blue male (as seen in my icon) named Chum-Fu. Im a college student so greatly appreciate affordable college fund appropriate solutions! Also ne advice is greatly appreciated as Ive come to love lil Chum-Fu.

this is the tank i currently have for him and since i got him last friday, has been making a decent size bubble nest around the edges. I just bought a heater for his tank off amazon since no matter what room i keep him in my apartment, his water just gets a lil too cold. Hes currently under a lampi have and seems to be doing a decent job. I have water conditioner, food, and washed his decor properly.

But I have a few questions:

As you can see he has bamboo and everything that could keep a betta happy (or decently happy) but every time I get close to the tank he hides under the bamboo in the corner. What can i do to get him to come to the tank when im around? I've had him only a week and already a lil attached to him, (mostly because im having cat withdrawals) and I enjoy the company. My neighbor has surround sound that vibrates his tank sometimes, is it stress?

I got him Topfin 7 day feeders and Aqueon pellets (2-3 a day) but havent seen him eat yet. Hes jutting around the tank and resting now and then, is it possible hes sick already or what am i doing wrong?

Am i doing alright with changing his water 50% one day and then 100% 3 days later? I have a hectic school life and try to change his water when i can especially now as I read the forums and see I should be changing his water more often then my boss does hers (.25 gal 100% once a week).
Potential4Evil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 08:01 PM   #2 
Potential4Evil