Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Chat
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 09-05-2011, 10:38 PM   #1 
Sarahlydear

Please remind me why I shouldn't

So today I discovered the fish section of my college town WalMart...every betta was either floating or sinking. There wasn't one that was healthy and most were females. Luckily I had no money on me but man I don't know if I can go back there. I kept trying to remind myself
1) that it only encourages them to buy more
2) supports the abuse but I've NEVER seen it this bad.
3) I'm a college student and I can't properly support another one to the degree I want.

I keep thinking that Anything would be better and I can easily find another home for him or her.
BUT I know it would be wrong. I already have 3 bettas, 3 snails and some cherry shrimp.

Support please! This is the hardest I've ever had to resist.
Why can't the world just realize that bettas are fish too! And not be filled with crap employees that don't care. >:(
Sarahlydear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2011, 10:58 PM   #2 
iloveengl

I understand your concern 100%. My husband and I made the decision years ago to never purchase cup bettas from any chain store that kept them in poor conditions (and that purchases them from mills), which includes most chain pet stores. We made this decision for exactly the reasons you listed above.