Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 09-07-2011, 05:24 AM   #1 
Yaoilover12397

Exclamation Glofish help?!

So I woke up this morning to see one of my orange Glofish was swimming at the top and not with the other fish, he had lost some of his color and his tail looked like it had been knawed on kinda. So I removed him with tank water and added him and some more tank water into a glass vase. I'm still new to fish so im not quite sure what to do to help heal him. Any ideas?
Yaoilover12397 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 07:25 AM   #2 
Littlebittyfish

Are your glofish living with a betta? If so it is possible he got his fins nipped and is stressed out..I would float him in the main tank and add some premixed aquarium salt to his container..1 tsp per gallon.
Littlebittyfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 07:30 AM   #3 
fishy friend2

I just read the sig and it looks like it lives with a betta
fishy friend2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 08:21 AM   #4 
Myates

Could of been either the betta or the mollies, or possibly the other glofish. His color is washed due to the stress most likely. Keep him in QT to see if he perks up, change the water 100% daily (or take out as much water as you can, leaving just enough on the bottom to swim then fill back up), and I wouldn't keep him in the salt treatment for too many days, as they aren't like mollies who prefer brackish water. The salt right now is more for a preventative. I'd probably suggest stress coat over salt since he isn't wounded. Stress coat will keep him relaxed, help his fin regrow (sometimes salt will hamper that), and help keep his slime coat healthy in case he got bumped too many times. Keep him for a couple of days at the most and see if he regains any energy.