Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 09-11-2011, 01:04 AM   #1 
hhchun

Cycling Question for 5 Gallon Tank

I've purchased a new 5 gallon tank and plan to cycle it using either the shrimp or fish food method.
I only plan to have 1 betta living in the tank, would I use 1/2 a small sized shrimp in order to start off the cycle or does it need to be cycled at all if I dedicate 100% water changes?
Also, I read that a 5 gallon tank can be very sporadic when it comes to cycling and does water conditioner need to be added to the tap water while cycling?

Sorry I am so full of questions, I am a silly newbie when it comes to tank maintenance!
hhchun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2011, 03:29 AM   #2 
HatsuneMiku

hi there (^_^) /)" *waves*

and it's ok to ask a lot of questions .. that's what this forum is for

first off are you planning to have a filter running 24/7 ..? .. if you do not plan on having a filter with media .. you won't establish a full cycle .. as good bacteria grows on the filter media which maintains cycle ..

i haven't heard of using shrimp to start a fishless cycle .. you could do an in fish cycle .. and then remove ur betta to a qt tank when the ammonia levels become too high .. before the nitrates grow enough to take them out .. but you'll need a test kit to monitor the process more closely so you can know exactly when to do a water change that won't cause the cycle to start over again ..

and yes it is very sporadic in a 5g tank .. examples as
if good bacteria dies off from ur filter being turned off .. then your cycle will start again ..
if you change too much water .. your cycle will start again ..
if your tank gets too much ammonia before you do a w/c and the bacteria can't turn the ammonia into nitrate fast enough ... your cycle will start again ..