Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 09-11-2011, 10:00 AM   #1 
TauntingHali

My male betta won't eat. D:

I bought this male betta yesterday, and he still won't eat. He just spits it back out, and the flakes sink to the bottom of the tank. My female that I got along with him eats just fine. He also just sits around and barely moves. Buffy (the female) swims around and everything. I also think that he may have fin rot, but I'm not for sure since I'm new to this whole betta fish thing.
Here is Axl.
Attached Images

TauntingHali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2011, 10:04 AM   #2 
CrowntailTwitchy57

do you only have flakes? some don't like flakes, but if you have pellets soak them in garlic to make them more appetizing. if he still won't eat, give it a few days. eventually he will get hungry enough to eat. it sounds cruel but give him food every day and see if he eats it.
CrowntailTwitchy57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2011, 10:25 AM   #3 
TauntingHali

Okay, thanks. I guess I'll keep trying to feed him, hopefully he'll eat soon.
I'm still worried about his fins though:/
Old 09-11-2011, 10:54 AM   #4 
LaLaLeyla

Try again later. Or you can try and crush the flakes into smaller pieces.
Or you could try and buy him some pellets and see if he likes those instead.
LaLaLeyla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2011, 12:52 PM   #5 
Myates

Either way, pellets should be a staple in their diet, normally they tend to be a little bit better for them. Presoak them if they are too big for him to eat as a whole.