Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 09-14-2011, 01:23 AM   #1 
reallifejaws

possible dum dum question from newbie...

Hi all! this may be a very stupid question but i'm new to Bettas (and obsessed) and want to do everything right, sooo... If i used a 2.5-3 gal. aquarium with no filter but did use a heater, when i change the water (both 50% and 100%) what do i do with my betta? i would think moving him to a small holding bowl (when doinf 100% changes) would be ok for a while but i would be concerned b/c the bowl water would not be the same temp as the heated water... i don't want to shock him by changing temperatures so much, should i preheat the bowl water?
any suggestions?
My boy is currently in a large bowl (Planning on moving him to larger tank) and i have two of everything (bowl, gravel, etc) so when i change his water now i set his new bowl up just like the other one and let the temp settle so they are the same..
reallifejaws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 01:28 AM   #2 
Pataflafla

You could keep him in his cup while you do the water change. That's what I do when I have to do a major water change. If he stresses in the cup you could put a towel over it to keep it dark for him.
Pataflafla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 01:32 AM   #3 
reallifejaws

ok cool. I guess if i use his tank water to fill the cup it will still be warm enough for a while.... ahhh so simple! thank you!!!!
reallifejaws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 02:47 AM   #4 
cherrybello

yes, I conducted a 100% water change last night, and just slowly add tank water into the holding bowl before I put my betta back to his tank. I am ashamed to say that for the first time I moved him into his tank, that's probably why he got so sick for a while :(
cherrybello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 07:24 AM   #5 
marauder