Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 09-17-2011, 03:24 PM   #1 
Draug Isilme

Aquarium sealant or some type of glue >.>

I've never used any aquarium sealant before. I was wondering if it was a good idea to use it to coat my betta log- I'm worried about the paint coming off as it seems like it's beginning to do so, and someone said it seems prone to have algae grow on them and fall apart.. I figured a good coating would keep the rest of the paint from coming off and deter any algae from growing on it and hold the pieces together xD... How fast does it dry, anyway? Would I be able to use a paint brush and not have to worry about the bristles hardening too quickly? Also, is there any other kind of sealant stuff I could use that would do what I want it to do and not be harmful to my fish?

Edit: Oh, and I was thinking about getting a suction cup and sticking it on so that the log won't move around as much >.> That seem like an okay idea? My betta really loves the log, but I don't want it to squish him out of no where or fall apart on him, ya know?
Draug Isilme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2011, 03:32 PM   #2 
Sweeda88

You must use aquarium sealant. Only the kind they sell at the pet store. But don't use a brush unless you intend to toss it afterward. Sealant sticks to everything and it doesn't come off.
Sweeda88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2011, 03:36 PM   #3 
Draug Isilme

Alrighty, duly noted ^.^ I've got some extra brushes I can use and I suppose I can start from the inside so it's less likely to stick to everything and the world, let that part dry, and then work on the outside and stick a suction cup on it xD
Old 09-17-2011, 03:43 PM   #4 
Sweeda88

Sounds good!
Sweeda88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2011, 05:14 PM   #5 
audjree

aquarium sealant should be okay to use for that. (: