Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-18-2011, 06:27 PM   #1 
hmckin20
Member
 
hmckin20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: In a pineapple
Ammonia levels

So, I went and bought my first test kit today. Andd I tested my first tank... and I'm pretty certain it's at .25 ppm. I've read that's harmful, so I'm a little worried. o_o

The instructions for my test kit said API Ammo Lock will "convert the ammonia into a non-toxic form" while allowing biological filter to consume non-toxic ammonia, converting it to nitrite and then nitrate.


So, experienced aquarist community, has anyone used API Ammo Lock? Is it legit?

And my water- should I do a water change or should I do a 100% to lower the level?

Also, can I test more than one tank with the same tube? Do I just rinse it out?

Last edited by hmckin20; 09-18-2011 at 06:46 PM.
hmckin20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 08:07 PM   #2 
walle
Member
 
walle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
I think we have the same test kit! API Ammonia? Mine said to get Ammo Lock too, but I was told by someone on here to get SeaChem Prime instead. It converts ammonia into non-toxic ammonium, and removes chlorine and chloramines!

I'd do a 25% water change and test again to see if it helped (Put dechlorinator in the fresh water before adding it to your tank if you keep your fish in there during the change). You should probably test your tap water too.

Yeah, just wash out the tube really well and test away!
walle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 10:32 PM   #3 
Banicks
Member
 
Banicks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Normally a simple water change will reduce your ammonia levels.

However, I believe if your tap water is naturally high on ammonia, a water change fixes very little. Undertake a test on your tap water to see the levels, if there is no ammonia level a water change will suffice to lower your ammonia levels in the tank :)
Banicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 11:15 PM   #4 
hmckin20
Member
 
hmckin20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: In a pineapple
I tested my water and it came back at 0. and then i did a water change and it went back down- not exactly 0 but it's not .25 either. Which is good :)

Also, I'll see about that Seachem Prime tomorrow :D We do have the same test kit! API is my favorite fishy brand.

Thanks for the help guys :)
hmckin20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 11:34 PM   #5 
Banicks
Member
 
Banicks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Your ammonia level may even spike when undertaking a water change as it ruffles up all the crud.

Test it again late tomorrow for a more accurate test. Should be down around 0 by then :)
Banicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ammonia Levels ;; CitrusKnight Betta Fish Care 5 07-21-2011 03:42 PM
Ammonia Levels? Kpabs Betta Fish Care 2 03-13-2011 09:53 PM
ammonia levels sniper8752 Betta Fish Care 8 02-09-2011 07:10 PM
Ammonia Levels Melbell Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 4 01-05-2011 10:01 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.