Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 09-21-2011, 12:56 PM   #1 
charlotte

Question So many questions!

I'm relatively new to owning bettas and so far I haven't had much luck. I have so many questions I figured it'd be easier to ask them all at once instead of starting different threads.
Just to clarify a lot of the bettas I've gotten were in bad condition to begin with so it's hard to tell if they died from something I did or if it was bound to happen (pretty sure most of the time it was my fault )

1. A few times after I've done water changes the fish have died. The first couple times I did about 75% of the water and I think they might've gone into shock (I put in the water all at once and it was cold). Another time I did maybe 20% of the water and the same thing happened. I put cold water in again that time because I didn't think it was enough to matter but it did. Is it because of the temperature or something else? I thought maybe I'm taking out important bacteria- I really have no clue but now I'm scared to do them.

2. at the petstore a lady told me bettas dont breathe the water like goldfish (somethings different with their brains or something? im not sure) so the cleanliness of the water doesn't really matter. I'm pretty sure that's not true, but should I have a filter? she told me not to get one and that I didn't need anything to test the water either

3. do bettas like/need airstones or some kind of aeration? I heard they don't like a current but I'm not sure

4. how much should I be feeding them (how many pellets a day)? I have pellets and bloodworms. how often should i give them the bloodworms? if they're frozen can they get parasites from them? how can you tell if they're constipated?