Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-25-2011, 04:39 PM   #1 
ShawnBliss
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Amateur Here

I'm new to fish and I didn't know anything about cycling a tank. Will I be able to keep my betta healthy during the cycling process? I was thinking maybe 1-2 10% water changes daily and a 50% water change every other day. Would this be sufficient?
ShawnBliss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 04:41 PM   #2 
BettaMiah
Member
 
BettaMiah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Colorado
How big is your tank? Anything under 3 gallons is pretty much impossible to cycle because you will be doing tons of water changes.
BettaMiah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 05:02 PM   #3 
Oldfishlady
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Welcome to the forum......

What size tank, type of filter, any live plants, water temp, pH, stocking level, type of substrate and do you have a test kit.........if you have live plants-type of lights and photoperiod......can you post a pic......

The nitrogen cycle isn't as complicated as it sounds once you understand the bacteria to meet its needs.......it needs- surface area, oxygen and food to thrive and colonize.....as BettaMiah posted....in small filtered tanks under 5gals..... its not that a filtered smaller tank can't cycle...its more due to limited surface area that limits the stability of the nitrogen cycle and nitrifying bacteria colony....
Oldfishlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 05:13 PM   #4 
ShawnBliss
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Size: 2.5 gallons
  • Filter: Tetra i-3 Whisper
  • Live Plants: None (Yet)
  • Water Temp: 78-80 degrees fahrenheit
  • Stock: One betta
  • Substrate: Gravel
  • Lighting: LED

I only had 1 test strip yesterday, I'll have to buy a test kit soon. The strip yesterday said the pH was 7.5. Also, I have no problem doing as many water changes as necessary I just don't want to change it too much and hurt the fish or reset the cycling process.
ShawnBliss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 05:21 PM   #5 
Micho
Member
 
Micho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Canada
You will not be able to cycle your tank.

To be honest you can cycle your tank if it's 5 gallons and higher, even at 5 gallons the cycle is unstable, the bigger the tank the more stable the cycle is. . .

If you plan to add live plants in, try to get a hardy low-light plants. Since you're using a LED light. . You can read a plant guide here and choose what to add to your tank, maybe a marimo moss ball or some moss: http://www.bettafish.com/showthread.php?t=76428
Micho is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.