Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-29-2011, 02:01 PM   #11 
1fish2fish
Member
 
1fish2fish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Savannah, GA
Just let it sit. It'll settle and clear. I have ADA amazonia mixed with some other stuff in my sorority and since I just switched it to a 29 I had to wait for it to clear. You can do water changes and run a filter with a lot of sponge in it to help but the only thing that's going to work is time. Eventually the dust will settle to the bottom of the tank and it won't be such a hassle to do water changes.
1fish2fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2011, 11:49 PM   #12 
Sakura8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Elk Grove, California
Aurasoulful, I was thinking of using Eco-Complete with some sand on top when I go to plant my larger tanks. Even if I wasn't having this problem with the ADA Amazonia, I can't afford to use it in anything larger than a 3g. This stuff is crazy expensive!

1Fish2Fish, thank you for letting me know about your experience with ADA Amazonia. I just did another water change and it's gone from cloudy to hazy, so we're moving in the right direction. Ammonia did go up to 1.0ppm before the water change so I'll have to keep an eye on that. It might be a few weeks before my poor betta gets to move back in.
Sakura8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 10:09 AM   #13 
1fish2fish
Member
 
1fish2fish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Savannah, GA
Eco complete does best when not mixed with anything. I wouldn't sand cap eco complete because it's not designed to work that way.

I bought my ADA used so I didn't experience the ammonia spike, well, that and I was cycling the tank anyways.
1fish2fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 07:21 PM   #14 
Sakura8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Elk Grove, California
1fish, do you have any experience with sand capping Seachem Fluorite?
Sakura8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 07:40 PM   #15 
1fish2fish
Member
 
1fish2fish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Savannah, GA
Nope. I'm actually not a big fan of sand. I did have a tank that had sand capped with fluorite which wasn't so bad but it wasn't a planted tank so it was kinda useless. It came with the tank and I have a problem with needing to find a use for everything so I kept it.
1fish2fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 07:54 PM   #16 
Sakura8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Elk Grove, California
I wouldn't use sand either except I have cories and I'd feel better if they had the sand to scamper across. Otherwise, yeah, love gravel. So much easier to clean.
Sakura8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 08:03 PM   #17 
1fish2fish
Member
 
1fish2fish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Savannah, GA
Most people I've talked to say cories do just fine on ecocomplete or fluorite. My sorority is a mixture of fluorite and ADA and I'll be putting cories in there once it's established.
1fish2fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 08:33 PM   #18 
Sakura8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Elk Grove, California
Okay, great. That's really helpful to know, 1fish. Thanks so much. When I first got into fishkeeping, I had no idea there were so many choices for substrate. I thought it was the neon colored gravel or nothin'. XD

By the way, should I not bother adding any fertilizers till the tank has cleared up?
Sakura8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 12:05 AM   #19 
Sakura8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Elk Grove, California
I just did an experiment to see if Amazonia would cloud up if I capped with something. I got a small kritter keeper and put some Amazonia soil down with some pea gravel on top and filled it. The water still looked cloudy but then I realized my fatal mistake: the darn plastic kritter keeper is so scratched up, I wouldn't know if it was cloudy inside or not! *pulls hair*
Sakura8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 05:05 PM   #20 
aurasoulful
Member
 
aurasoulful's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Citrus Heights, California
How's your tank today Sakura? I hope it's clearing up. Do you have a filter running?
aurasoulful is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do you think he has a chance??? My Fish Frank Betta Pictures 9 09-26-2011 09:31 PM
Chance LittleBettas Betta Memorials 1 08-10-2011 01:17 PM
Chance has SBD nochoramet Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies 14 03-29-2010 05:34 PM
Chance and Byron! SaylorKennedy Betta Pictures 8 11-18-2009 09:03 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.