Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-30-2011, 09:31 PM   #1 
ChantelJohnson
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Substrate question.

So I recently bought a 15 gallon tank and I do plan on dividing the tank either two or three ways haven't really made up my mind yet but I was wondering if it would alright if I were to have black sand and aquatic marbles as the substrate? Would there be a problem using both? I just want to know.
ChantelJohnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 11:11 AM   #2 
tf1265
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Nope, that's fine. As long as there is smooth substrate, your betta won't care. Why both though? You might run into some cleaning problems, as the marbles will leave a lot of space for tank junk to slip through, but the sand will leave most of it sitting at its surface.
tf1265 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 11:22 AM   #3 
regalesse
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: DeRidder Louisiana
aquatic sand is a great choice and is versitile. many of my tanks sport the sandy bottom and it is a decision that i have yet to regret.
regalesse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 05:52 PM   #4 
ChantelJohnson
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
@tf1265 I don't know if I read this somewhere or someone told me that a tank wont cycle correctly with just aquatic marbles. I don't know if this is true are not but this is my first time being a betta owner there are so many different information being thrown at me that I'm just so confused. So I thought maybe the sand and aquatic marbles would help it cycle. So I'm guessing me trying to outsmart the situation may just cause me more work.
ChantelJohnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 07:20 PM   #5 
regalesse
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: DeRidder Louisiana
it will cycle with them given some time and a little maintenance.
regalesse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 07:41 PM   #6 
tf1265
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Yeah, I can't think of a reason why that would be true. The bacteria will live almost anywhere if the conditions are right. You could still layer them if you really like the look, it's obviously completely up to you. I would think through if you really want the marbles though because it's dramatically different from their "natural" environment, especially if they're the really shiny or opalesque kind. That might be the reason many serious hobbyist don't use them - as far as the fish is concerned, not the best option. But your tank will still cycle, it will just make vaccuuming a bit trickier.
tf1265 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.