Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 10-03-2011, 06:17 PM   #1 
crystalmylovee

Thumbs down Cycling is a pain the butt!

ive been cycling for more than 2 months now, and i feel like im doing everything wrong -.- ammonia always stays at .25ppm.

i need for the cycling to be done already i put my bettas back in the cups they came in :(

Last edited by crystalmylovee; 10-03-2011 at 06:19 PM.
crystalmylovee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 06:38 PM   #2 
LittleBettaFish

What are you using as your source of ammonia? Also check the pH of your aquarium water. Sometimes it can crash during the cycling process, and once it gets below 6.5, the process can slow considerably.

Lastly, are you getting any readings for nitrite and nitrates?
LittleBettaFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 06:49 PM   #3 
crystalmylovee

i'm not using anything x( by source of ammonia you mean like using hardy fish or ammonia from the store?
ph always stays at 8

i don't have tests kits for nitrite and nitrate, i thought since ammonia is too high i wouldn't get readings for neither of those

sorry this is my first time cycling x/
Old 10-03-2011, 06:52 PM   #4 
bahamut285

You NEED to get the rest of the kit. You may have ammonia in your tap water which is giving you false readings.

My tanks are cycled and I always still have a little bit of ammonia from my tap water, it usually goes away though.

What are you using to treat your water? What test kit are you using?
bahamut285 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 07:02 PM   #5 
Banicks

Hi Crystal,

LBF and Baha have both put forward my thoughts already.

I can only recommend patience ontop of a full testing kit - sometimes cycling takes a long time at different stages or other things can be at play.