Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > The Lounge
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-09-2011, 03:01 AM   #1 
HatsuneMiku
Member
 
HatsuneMiku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: ♥ so kali ♥
electricity

if i plug a 3 plug extension cord to the wall .. and don't plug anything into the extension cord .. and just leave it there .. is it using electricity?
HatsuneMiku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2011, 10:56 AM   #2 
gmd1800
Member
 
gmd1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Rochester, NY
Oh yes. The cords still has voltage running through it, just in case it's needed to be used. To have voltage differences, you have to have current, which takes electricity. If you don't use it, there will still be electricity running through it.
gmd1800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2011, 04:09 PM   #3 
HatsuneMiku
Member
 
HatsuneMiku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: ♥ so kali ♥
ohh darn D= .. so when i plug something into the extension cord .. does it use more electricity cus now it's powering the extension cord and the thing i just plugged in ?
HatsuneMiku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2011, 07:43 PM   #4 
gmd1800
Member
 
gmd1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Rochester, NY
I would think so, yes.
gmd1800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 03:27 AM   #5 
HatsuneMiku
Member
 
HatsuneMiku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: ♥ so kali ♥
what about those extension cords that have that on off switch on it?
HatsuneMiku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 08:59 AM   #6 
gmd1800
Member
 
gmd1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Rochester, NY
I think if you can switch the cords off, it trips the circuit and keeps electricity from flowing through it. In that case it might be OK. However, I'm not an electrician, just a scientist with a boyfriend who knows everything.
gmd1800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 01:17 PM   #7 
HatsuneMiku
Member
 
HatsuneMiku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: ♥ so kali ♥
ooo oki !! thanks for all the info =) .. i think i'll just keep it unplugged for now till i set up my tank and actually have things plugged in just in case =D
HatsuneMiku is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electricity? baylee767 Betta Chat 4 04-09-2011 01:50 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.