Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 10-13-2011, 04:10 PM   #1 
chicagojo

Most important next steps to keep our bettas happy & healthy

Hello,
I'm a newbie so please forgive any potentially repetitive questions, although I have reviewed lots of the stickys already so hopefully it won't be too bad .

Our family adopted 2 bettas named Feathers and Rock N Roll about two months ago when they were suggested by staff at our local pet store as potentially good first pets for our furry-animal-allergic kids (ages 5 & 7).

Unfortunately, Feathers died over the weekend, after which I found this forum today trying to figure out how to keep Rock N Roll healthy and how to best care for Feathers 2, who came home with us on Sunday.

Reading some of the stickys here I am learning that care of these fish is MUCH more complex than the pet store folks let on. Here is a quick run-down of what we have been doing and things I already know we need to change but I'm hoping someone can help me prioritize because my husband will freak out if I come home and announce that we need to spend a couple of hundred dollars to create optimal living conditions for these fish.

So, here goes:
- Currently, they are each in a separate acrylic bowl. I am guessing they are 1-gallon bowls. They each have aquarium gravel, a little plastic plant, and a couple of "aquarium toys" in there.
- We are doing 50% water changes 2x/week. We are using water conditioner and being VERY careful about having no soap residue on the kids' hands. After Feathers died we had the pet store test the water and they said everything was fine (the ammonia was a tiny bit high but we would have done a water change that morning had Feathers not died the night before so they thought it was ok)
- We recently started using aquarium salt (about 6 grains per bowl) after each water change.