Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 10-18-2011, 01:40 AM   #1 
JessahMoose

My Betta is acting funny in his newer Tanks

Hey guys

okay so im a newbie when it comes to Bettas, i had one when i was about 7 but my mom had taken care of him. So now, i have a new Betta, his Name is Felix, when i bought him he was in the standard square tank, but now, i had bought him a bigger tank, its a Fluval Spec desk tank, and it has a filter so its moving the water around. Sadly he isnt swimming around to much in it, and spending most of his time hiding in the big purple plant i bought him....

Is this normal?

(the pictures are in order, the first is his old tank, second is his Current one and the third is him, in the plant, he almost burries his face into it, or hes in the plant and i cant tell if hes alive D: )
Attached Images

JessahMoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 02:17 AM   #2 
RobotFrog

If he isn't showing any signs of illness it might just be that he's not used to his new place. Maybe his plant makes him feel safe? My newest fish has been hiding in his coffee mug for 3 days lol :)
Also, if the water is cold he'll be less active. I'm not sure if you have a heater?
RobotFrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 02:27 AM   #3 
JessahMoose

Mmm im not even sure what the signs of illness are, all i know is he loves his purple plant and today for the second time since i bought his little building thing, he swam through it, then back to his plant. so maybe he just likes his plant,im really unsure. and no theres no water heater, his water is tap water with some stuff i put in it, and its the same temp (by the feeling on my finger) as his old tank, he only had this new one since sunday, how long does it normally take for a fish to get used to a new tnak?
Old 10-18-2011, 02:56 AM   #4 
Bombalurina