Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 10-22-2011, 03:46 PM   #1 
Indyfishy

Thumbs down Water conditioner making my fish sick?

I think something is wrong with my water conditioner =/ I've been using Top Fin betta water conditioner for about 3 years, and haven't had a problem until now. My fish's water has been incredibly cloudy and they are all acting sluggish/spazzy. I thought it might have something to do with how the weather has changed here, and it's been very dry in the house, or that there was uneaten food that I was somehow missing, until about a week or two ago. I noticed our old male, Gorton, laying on his side in his tank. He couldn't seem to make himself upright in the water, and he was very lethargic. He lives in a 2 gallon tank, in the warmest room in the house, and I had just changed his water 100% a couple days ago. His water has been very slimey for the last couple months, like he's been shedding alot of slime coat. I immediately changed 50% of his water and dosed the tank for the full volume with stresscoat and epsom salt. The next day he was doing quite a bit better, and I've switched him over to Stress Coat full time. His water has been crystal clear, no slime, and he even had a bubble nest this morning. Sullivan and Daisy, however, haven't been doing so hot. Their water hs been very cloudy, they both have slime on the top of their water, and they both alternate between just lazing about or going completely crazy and running into things in their tanks. They are still on Top Fin betta water conditioner, and had been doing fine until I opened up this last bottle of dechlorinator. They are both acting so strange. As of right now, Sully is trying to bury himself in his gravel (he's getting a 100% percent water change tonight, don't worry). They have no other reason to be acting like this, they are both young, healthy fish.