Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 10-28-2011, 07:48 PM   #1 
Sassington

Unhappy New Fish, odd behavior?

Hey all -

I am new to the fish world and I have a 1 gallon tank with gravel and a "filter" that sits under the gravel with an airstone/air pump device to aerate the tank that I tried to host a few goldfish in a while back with no luck. I cleaned it out very good and decided on a betta we named Sara a few days ago since they seemed heartier than goldfish..

Anyway, my fish has been acting odd the past few hours.. he/she has been swimming erratically (I'll try to post a video) in that time... it doesn't seem to be rubbing itself on anything (trying to scratch its body) but seems to swim against the sides of the glass (okay, so it's plastic, but you get the idea) and seems to swim pretty ... erratic is the best way I can describe it. Normally it is a pretty slow, calm betta and I don't know if I should take this as playing/happy behavior or if it could be something bothering him/her. Sara doesn't seem to only do it when I get close to the tank so I can rule out "happy to see me" type behavior. I can see her doing the swimming fast, darting thing as I'm across the room typing this... I don't see any color changes, spots, fin changes...

I couldn't attach a video but I uploaded it to youtube and I hope it's okay to post the link here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZSUk_...e_gdata_player

Should I be worried or am I just paranoid?

Thanks for any input!!
Sassington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 08:21 PM   #2 
Sassington

Oh, I didn't see this sticky before posting... I tried to include as much info as I knew in my OP but... here goes:

Housing
What size is your tank? one gallon
What temperature is your tank? I don't know
Does your tank have a filter? Yes
Does your tank have an air stone or other type of aeration? Air stone