Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 10-31-2011, 09:57 AM   #1 
ourmiraclekids

NEWBIE and trying to save a walmart crowntail betta

Hi everyone. My name is Stephanie and I am new to caring for fish and as always I have taken on more than I can chew. Last thursday I was in Walmart and saw this sad betta in the cup and I could tell he was sick. I made them give him to me for free since he was on deaths door. He is really bloated and has one eye popping. The weird thing is that he is really active and seems to be happy (strange). Also he isn't eating so I am shocked he is still alive. I do leave a pellet or bloodworms just in case so he may be knibbling on that I am not too sure. I have been water changing daily and added some salt. My question is that do you think he has some hope or am I just delaying the inevitable?
ourmiraclekids is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 11:00 AM   #2 
Oldfishlady

Welcome to the forum....

It never hurts to try and it sounds like he has the will to live....good that you are making daily water changes and offering food....once he settle he may start to eat for you....

I would keep him in the small cup and start Epsom salt 3tsp/gal and tannins on him for the swelling.....along with 100% daily water changes for 10-14 days...

Premix the treatment water in a 1gal jug of dechlorinated water-Add Epsom salt 3tsp/gal and tannins-either IAL or dried Oak leaf and use this water for your water changes.....do smaller percent to start to acclimate him to the treatment water then the 100%.....

Keep us posted....
Oldfishlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 12:11 PM   #3 
ourmiraclekids

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oldfishlady View Post
Welcome to the forum....