Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 11-01-2011, 02:08 PM   #1 
Larsa

Sorority girl check-up, Help please please :(

Hello all, as some of you might know I just lost one of my original fish from some weird illness more than likely from water quality. I lost another one last month that I am still trying to recover from the loss. I want to know if any of you can see something maybe I cannot spot. I have little experience with fish diseases and I would like to make sure none of my other girls have something serious. Right now, since yesterday, all the girls are isolated after their alpha's random death. Here is the thread if you owuld like to get an idea about how she died: http://www.bettafish.com/showthread.php?t=84899

Here's the data and the pictures:

Housing
What size is your tank?
10 gallon
What temperature is your tank? 78F-82F
Does your tank have a filter? Yes- cartridge is new.
Does your tank have an air stone or other aeration? Nope.
Is your tank heated? Yes, a Tetra heater.
What tank mates does your betta fish live with? I have 5 total female bettas in a sorority
*Decorations in tank: Only smooth polished pebbles, a thermometer, a heater, and various fake tall plants that do not snag pantyhose. None of them are painted or dyed.

Food

What type of food do you feed your betta fish? 3 NLS Betta pellets daily, or, 2 NLS and one Tetra FD Bloodworm daily.
How often do you feed your betta fish? once a day for 7 days a week.

Maintenance

How often do you perform a water change? One change 50% one week, one 100% the next week, repeat.So evey other week I do a full water change, but, sometimes I dont have the time so I do a 50% for 2 weeks.
What percentage of the water do you change when you perform a water change? Above ^^