Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 11-02-2011, 04:15 PM   #1 
GamerGuy

Unhappy New Betta is Sick

Hello everyone. I'm very new to caring for Betta, and I'm in dire need of care advice for my Betta Ray. Within two days of adopting him, he had a sudden bacterial bloom fogging his water; and I noticed many translucent, white and stringy particles which break apart when I try to remove them from his water. Since there is a lack of normal poo in his tank, I've made the assumption that the particles are sickly poo resulting from internal parasites; which I would appreciate if someone could confirm.

I've been treating his tank water with bettafix, and giving him 3/4 water changes every two days trying to remove as much of the debris as possible. Is this a sufficient treatment? I will greatly appreciate any answers, as I didn't know his predecessor was sick (with what I now know to be the same symptoms of illness) until he started showing signs of sever fin rot and died within 24 hours of starting treatment. I really don't want to have to see another fish suffer the same fate.

More details I can give are: He is currently living in a half gallon fishbowl that I was given and designated as my hospital bowl, he's a crowntail betta splendens, he is eagerly eating his ration of Aqueon Betta pellets, and he seems to swim against his bowl though he shows no signs yet of external issues.

Edit: specified aqueon food as betta pellets
GamerGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 06:02 PM   #2 
GamerGuy

Addition

Just now I noticed he has a fuzzy growth on one the spines of his anal fin, and the afflicted area appears darker in color and swollen.
Old 11-02-2011, 06:15 PM   #3 
Oldfishlady

Welcome to the forum...sorry you are having problems....we need some more information.....