Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-13-2014, 04:14 PM   #1 
Dexter teebs
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
2.5 gallon tank. Need a filter

Hey guys. Just has my first pretty long thread in another thread about why my ammonia levels were 1.0 ppm. I did a full 100% clean last night. Just checked again. And now it's already 0.25 ppm. I have a aqueon 2.5 g tank with a undercoral (I'm new to this) filter. Which we all agreed doesn't work. Now. I'm changing out my large stone substrate to smaller gravel. Which is good but I need a filter. Dunno what can fit in my tank since it's rather small and I'm worried about making a current. Sponge filters? I guess?!
Dexter teebs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 04:18 PM   #2 
Dexter teebs
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Someone suggested this: http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00176...ls_o03_s00_i00

Thoughts?

Btw. This is my tank
Attached Images
 
Dexter teebs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 08:58 PM   #3 
JessiesGill
Member
 
JessiesGill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: North Texas, USA
There is a tiny sponge filter that fits easily into a 2 gallon tank.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

You'll need an air pump to run it. Something like this

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Get some air line tubing and a backflow check valve, and you'll be good to go.
The bubbles rising from the sponge filter do cause surface disturbance, and you'll hear the sound of the bubbling. My betta hasn't been bothered by the movement, as it doesn't really push him around the tank.

Other people here swear by this HOB filter
http://www.drsfostersmith.com/produc...fm?pcatid=9821
You need a couple of inches along the edge of the tank to hang this one, and possibly a better sponge to put inside it.
JessiesGill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 09:42 PM   #4 
Tree
Member
 
Tree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Northfield Minnesota
+1 to JessiesGill I have three of those sponge filters and they work wonderfully with my 2.6 gallons and 3 gallon. =)
Tree is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 09:46 PM   #5 
Dexter teebs
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Jessie,

If u can see in my pic. I already have an air stone and water pump. Just buying the filter should be enough yes? How often do u clean the sponge? And how often do u need to buy a new one?
Dexter teebs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 11:23 PM   #6 
JessiesGill
Member
 
JessiesGill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: North Texas, USA
Ah, yes. I see your tube and air stone. I can't see the air pump. The little sponge I linked to doesn't have room to add an air stone. You just attach the air line to the sponge. If your air pump is not above the tank, you'll need a check valve on the line, as well. It allows the air to flow only to the tank and prevents water from siphoning out of the tank in the event of a power outage.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Sponges don't need to be cleaned often at all, and you only replace them if they start to fall apart. You want them to grow the nitrifying bacteria that are needed to cycle the tank. If the sponge gets gunky and water flow is reduced, you swish it in some of the tank water that you've removed during a water change, to remove the debris. I've been running that filter for about 10 weeks and am going to do that for the first time at my next water change. Once a month is okay, but may not be necessary.
JessiesGill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 02:13 PM   #7 
SHRUB
New Member
 
SHRUB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Toronto
A sponge filter is a good route to go with smaller tanks but I just picked up an Aquatop PFE-1 filter for my 2 gallon and it's working really well so far. It's quieter than my sponge filter, it takes up almost no room inside the tank as it is an HOB, and the pump is rated at 2 watts (that's half the power of the popular Azoo Mignon 60 many people use) meaning that the water flow is essentially as gentle as you can possibly get. Over the past 2 odd weeks I've tried the Tetra Whisper 3i (noisy and takes up so much space in the tank), a sponge filter (bubbles and air pump were noisy, but it took up much less tank space) and have now finally settled in with the Aquatop PFE-1 and I couldn't be happier with it!

LINK: http://www.amazon.com/Aquatop-PFE-1-...=aquatop+pfe-1
SHRUB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 03:06 PM   #8 
MameJenny
Member
 
MameJenny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Colorado
I have the "10" version of this filter on my 2.5 gallon:
http://www.drsfostersmith.com/produc...m?pcatid=19616
You can find it at Petco and Petsmart, I believe. It's a good filter - been using mine for years, and it still works great. The flow is a bit high for small tanks, but you can fix that by stuffing a bit of sponge or mesh in the intake tube.

I replaced the media that comes with it with Aquaclear 20 media: http://www.drsfostersmith.com/produc...fm?pcatid=3630
You can fit in a sponge and a pack of ceramic rings or carbon. Or, you can leave one half empty and fit a small heater in the corner. (I can post pictures if you'd like.)
MameJenny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 06:05 PM   #9 
tromboneplaya
Member
 
tromboneplaya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: The Bat Cave
I've used this little filter in 5 gallons and in 2.5 gallons and I think it's great. It has adjustable flow, and on the lowest, it's pretty gentle. I think the one I have now I've had for at least 5 years and it's still going strong!
tromboneplaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
to Filter oR NOT to FiltER..for a 2.5 gallon tank Megara Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 21 02-15-2013 02:35 PM
5 gallon tank...what filter to use? GiggleGoddess Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 4 04-15-2010 03:13 PM
Need a filter in a 5 gallon tank? puddin Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 14 04-11-2010 08:16 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.