Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 11-07-2011, 08:30 AM   #1 
uberfish

Brown Strings Hanging?

Hello everyone... I am a fish caretaking novice - we have inherited the fish pictured from family who had to move overseas. To be honest, I'm not even sure it is a Betta fish, so excuse the post if it isn't...

Anyway, this morning, our fish started having these brown-ish string-y things coming out from the bottom side of the fish (near the middle of it's body). Have had the fish for a few months now, and haven't seen anything like it before, so I assume it isn't poop. Maybe it is? He/she's had about 3 of these come out this morning already, each about a 1/2 inch long. Is this a parasite of some kind?

Also a side note, but maybe related... ever since we switched to a new can of fish food (TetraMin tropical flakes), the food seems to stay floating in the tank for long periods of time. I typically scoop it out if it's been floating for more than a day. We use bottled spring water with aquarium salt and Topfin Betta water conditioner added.

Anybody know what's going on? Thank you!
Attached Images

uberfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 08:44 AM   #2 
Myates

Welcome, and that my friend.. is poop =)

On a side note though, some friendly advice-

It is hard to tell in that pic if it is a betta, but it's not a goldie.. so we will assume it is a betta.

In that size of a tank it is recommended to do 1 50% and 1 100% water change per week.
Stop use of AQ salt as long term use of it will harm their inside workings, and a will cause kidney failure. AQ salt is used for specific treatments, and is used for no longer then a 10 day period when in treatment.