Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 11-11-2011, 11:53 PM   #1 
smbrg

Question 1 Gallon Heater? Filter? Help???

I initially got my male betta, Bob, as a birthday present and was ignorant about betta habitats at the time and he was in a pretty small cube.

But today I bought him a 1 gallon tank, which I know is still small, but it IS better than what he was in. But I'm really lost with heaters and need some help finding one that won't overheat such a small aquarium.

Also, the filter that was in the aquarium was waaaay too strong for Bob, so I'll have to do without one right now. Do you guys think if I do 1/3 water changes every other day and full changes once a week that would be enough to prevent ammonia/nitrate/other issues? Or fewer/ more changes?

Please help, I'm new to bettas, but I love Bob and want him to be as comfy and healthy as possible in his new home.
smbrg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 12:59 AM   #2 
Pataflafla

In a 1 gallon, you can get away with 1 50% and 1 100% weekly.

Don't worry about a filter for it. It's small enough that the filter would be more of a hassle.

As for a heater, it's generally 5 watts per gallon, but I don't think they make a heater that small. You could go with a 25 watt adjustable, because that could safely heat your tank (With a little experimentation on the setting for correct temperature).

For heater brand, I recommend either an Elite or an Eheim Jager since I've never heard bad reviews for them. Stay away from the little Marina heaters since they don't work as they're advertised to.
Pataflafla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 10:04 AM   #3 
Thunderloon