Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Compatibility
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 11-12-2011, 09:04 PM   #1 
ManInBlack2010

snail questions...

So i'm considering getting a snail for both of my tanks. I know they breed like crazy so if i get only one per tank will i be alright? Is there a breed better than others that i should look for? I'd like something really pretty if possible (that makes me sound so shallow, haha) Also is there a staple pellet that i should feed them? Would they eat the sinking wafers i have for my corycats? Any snail info in general would be great, i'm a novice to all things aquatic and kinda learning as i go, lol

OH! the big question i wanted to ask, i know i should qt them before putting them in my tank... the problem is i don't have an extra tank to qt them in. Should i buy a little 2g or something to qt them in? Also what's a good amount of time to keep them in qt?
ManInBlack2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 04:33 PM   #2 
tf1265

I've never heard of a reason to QT snails - but if you have heard something different, better safe than sorry. I've never had any issues with snails bringing disease into my tanks.

Tiger nirite snails are very pretty, and you can have just 1 in your tank. With large snails though you do need to make sure that you feed them enough, if you rely solely on the algae your tank is producing they will probably die.

Cories won't have any interest in algae pellets (well, they may be interested for a few seconds, but then they'll realize it's not something they want to eat). They aren't really algae eaters, and as long as you are feeding them bottom-feeder pellets and they aren't starving you shouldn't have a problem with them eating the wafers.
tf1265 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 05:28 PM   #3 
Silverfang