Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 11-21-2011, 08:45 PM   #1 
boalt

FREAKING OUT! Please help me.

This is my first time posting here, so I apologize if my format is wrong. I recently purchased (two weeks ago) a betta fish (my first pet) and I think his fin maybe ripped or rotten. The short story is that I purchased a half gallon tank with plastic plants, but after reading the internet I took it back and got a one gallon tank with silk plants. Well the one gallon tank had a filter, that sucked Chester (that's his name) in. I naturally freaked out, unplugged the filter and he appeared to be swimming fine. Yesterday, I purchased a two gallon tank so now that's his new home. He appears to like it (e.g., he's been swimming around and around the tank (it's a circle shape)). I'm not sure if his fin is torn, and if so if it was like that when I brought him or if the plastic plants did it (it wasn't the filter because in old pics he looks the same).

I don't much about fish, so I really need someone's help. I'm scared he might be in pain and I feel really bad for him. I purchased Bettafix and the aquarium salt, but I haven't used any yet. Please please help me. I've really grown fond of this fish, so I'd like him to live a long and happy life.

I've attached some pictures. Thank you for whatever advice you can give.

Housing
What size is your tank? 2 gallon.
What temperature is your tank? 78.6
Does your tank have a filter? Yes (but it is not on)
Does your tank have an air stone or other type of aeration? No
Is your tank heated? No
What tank mates does your betta fish live with? None, he's an only fish.

Food
What type of food do you feed your betta fish? Aqueon Betta Food pellets, Freeze dried worms (as a treat)

How often do you feed your betta fish? Twice a day, 3 to 4 pellets each (for a total of 6 to 8 pellets)

Maintenance