Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Compatibility
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 11-28-2011, 05:46 AM   #1 
Edifiler

Beginner Starting A Sorority?

Hey guys so a few months back I brought home a Betta for the first time in ages. At that time I was a complete beginner and had no idea what I was getting myself into without doing the proper homework for it, my Betta died within the week. ._. ( I really regret it though, he was really pretty :()
And so after researching more and preparing a better tank for my next Betta, I brought home a nice Purplely /blue Betta :D I named him Peaches and put him into my 25L or 6.6 gallon tank after I was done filtering it :D He now lives happily beside my computer table.
But last week, I saw an advertisement on Gumtree ( For Perth residents) and i purchased a 35L or 9.25 gallon tank off some guy. It came with 3 slightly old air pumps that worked fine, a wool* filter ( not sure what it is called but it had wool in it) , an over-sized under gravel filter which i had to cut in order to fit into the tank. I've always wanted to try my luck at breeding but i know now is not the time for it because i dont have the resources required. So i would like to start up a sorority but i have a few questions that Google couldn't answer ._.

1) Would a 9.25 Gallon tank be too small to become a sorority? Or would it be better if i just partitioned it and make it home to some other Males?

2) If 9.25 Gallon is a big enough tank, how many female Bettas should i house it to? I read that around 4-6 is a good amount but for a small tank size like mine i should stick around 4 - 5

3) Would a under gravel filter as well as a wool filter ( Which i plan to remove the wool and put in some ceramic rings and some sponge and new wool) be enough to keep the water clean?

4) Could I squeeze some of the water from my existing filtered tank into the new filter to jump start the cycling?