Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 11-28-2011, 12:49 PM   #1 
Katiexo

Unhappy Sanyu Stopped Eating

Hi everyone I came across this webpage and thought this would be the easiest way to get an answer.

My betta Sanyu is nearly a year old he's a very pretty pink with purple and red splotches. He lives in a bowl I know is too small (1 gal), however I am a university student and have restrictions. I make sure I keep it clean so he doesn't get ammonia poisoning or sick.

He gets a daily diet of 4 pellets a day and every few days replaced with freeze dried blood worms or little bits of shrimp. Last week he decided he didn't want to eat his pellets anymore and since this is the nutritional food, I'm kind of concerned his health is going to begin to deteriorate. Nothing has changed in our routine and the food is also the same, he only eats the bloodworms now. He swims around or sits on his castle and is always alert looking at me. His colours are not faded either.

Could he just be bored of the food, or is this something more serious? Thank you for your help I really love him and I don't want anything to happen!
Katiexo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 06:05 PM   #2 
Oldfishlady

Welcome to the forum....

To start-the 1gal is fine provided that you maintain water quality.....

We need some more information and a pic if you can post one too...

In the 1gal-how much and how often are the water changes, water temp, filter, live plants, additives used, any tank mates, what kind of food and how old is it.....how long has he been off his staple diet.....no other symptoms...just stopped eating his regular food.....
Oldfishlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 07:52 PM   #3 
Katiexo

More info

So here are some pictures, a close up of him and then what he is living in.